Helpdesk: +91 9892560909

Classes of Certificates

Class 1 and Class 3 Digital Certificates

Digital Signature Certificates has become a statutory requirement in various applications. Verasys Technologies Private Limited, a subsidiary of Alankit Limited, issues three classes of certificates to individuals and organisations namely Class 1 and Class 3 digital signature certificate, in compliance with the rules of the Indian IT Act, 2000 and the X.509 Certificate Policy for India Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) published by Controller of Certifying Authorities. It is important to know about the types and class of DSC before making an application. They are explained below: .

Class 1 certificate

The Class 1 Digital Signature certificates are issued for both business personnel and private individuals use. Such certificates assure that the information in the application given by the subscriber does not conflict with the information in well-recognized consumer databases. The verification requirements for these certificates include:

(i) Aadhaar eKYC Biometric,

(ii) paper based application form and supporting documents or,

(iii) Aadhaar eKYC OTP + Video Verification. The Private Key generation and storage could be in software.

Class 3 certificate

This certificate is issued to individuals and organizations. Unlike Class 1 certificates and class 3 digital signatures certificates are applicable in environments with significant risks. However, Class 3 Digital Signature Certificate is applicable to environments where threats to data and consequences of failure of security services are high, for instance, high value transactions or high levels of fraud risk.

The verification requirements for class 3 certificate are :

(i) Aadhaar eKYC Biometric,

(ii) Paper based application form and supporting documents and (physical personal appearance before CA or Video verification) or

(iii) Aadhaar eKYC OTP + Video Verification. The Aadhaar eKYC OTP and Aadhaar eKYC Biometric are the verification requirements.

Verasys Technologies also offers Class 3 Document Signer certificate (HSM) which are high assurance certificates basically intended for e-commerce applications, and issued to individuals only on their personal (physical) appearance before the Certifying Authorities.